10,000 Maniacs (Album Release) with Pegi Young & The Survivors- 2/8 - SHOW IS POSTPONED, TICKET HOLDERS WILL BE NOTIFIED

Friday, February 08 2013 6:00pm Doors / 8:00pm Start
Fri Feb 08 2013

10,000 Maniacs (Album Release) with Pegi Young & The Survivors- 2/8 - SHOW IS POSTPONED, TICKET HOLDERS WILL BE NOTIFIED

at City Winery New York City



  • 10000 maniacs banner


One of the most critically acclaimed bands of the last three decades, 10,000 Maniacs were founded by Robert Buck, Dennis Drew, Steven Gustafson, John Lombardo and Natalie Merchant in the fall of 1981. Jerry Augustyniak joined in 1983. Together with artists like R.E.M. they defined college rock and created the first wave of alternative rock bands and what became know as the alternative rock format on FM radio.

Writing and performing powerful, danceable and socially conscious original material in and around their hometown of Jamestown, New York the group toured extensively and produced two independently released records, Human Conflict Number Five (ʼ82) and Secrets of the I Ching (ʼ83) on their own Christian Burial Music label.

By producing, manufacturing and marketing their own recordings 10,000 Maniacs were the original “indie” band before signing with Elektra Records and making The Wishing Chair in 1985 with producer Joe Boyd (Fairport Convention, Nick Drake). After touring extensively with REM and throughout Europe, John Lombardo left the band in July of 1986 and the band continued as a 5 piece.

In 1987 the Maniacs recorded and released In My Tribe. Produced by Peter Asher (James Taylor, Linda Ronstadt), this album broke into the charts, where it stayed 77 weeks, peaking at #37 and selling over two million copies. In My Tribe featured the hit singles "Don't Talk," "Hey Jack Kerouac," "Like The Weather" and "What's The Matter Here?" It was voted one of the 100 most important releases of the decade by Rolling Stone Magazine.

1988 saw the band debut on national television with appearances on the Tonight Show, Late Night with David Letterman and Saturday Night Live.

Blind Man's Zoo, the 1989 follow-up, hit #13 on the Billboard charts and went platinum. It featured the hit singles, "Trouble Me and "Eat For Two." The following world tour featured several European festivals, a string of US amphitheatres and the renowned Fourth of July concert with the Grateful Dead in front of 80,000 in Buffalo NY.

In 1990 the band released a compilation of their first two independent recordings called Hope Chest: The Fredonia Recordings along with a companion video entitled Time Capsule.

Our Time in Eden was released in 1992, and featured the hit singles,"Candy Everybody Wants" and "These Are Days" selling more than three million copies. Rolling Stoneʼs four-star review called it a  “...gripping new album ...with a provocative, unnerving power.”

A second Saturday Night Live appearance on Halloween ʻ92, preceded the Maniacsʼ memorable performance at Bill Clintonʼs MTV Inaugural Ball where host Dennis Miller famously referred to them as “Chelsea Clintonʼs favorite band.”

After the release of Our Time in Eden, Natalie Merchant announced that she was leaving for a solo career. MTV Unplugged was released a few months after her departure, featuring a remake of the classic, "Because The Night." The record sold 4 million copies.

10,000 Maniacs continued without Merchant, bringing back John Lombardo and adding Mary Ramsey in 1994.

In November 1995, the Maniacs played dates in Cleveland and Chicago. The Cleveland Plain Dealer remarked of their Agora Ballroom show:
"The band showed a sold-out crowd the path to its surprisingly smooth and viable rebirth...Saddled with the unenviable task of filling Merchant's
shoes, Ramsey brilliantly rose to the occasion"

The new lineup released Love Among the Ruins for Geffen Records in 1997, featuring a cover of Roxy Music's "More Than This," which went to
#24 on the Billboard charts, the highest-charting single in the band's history.

The Chicago Tribune noted,  "If the 11 new singles rolled out are any indication of things to come, the new incarnation of 10,000 Maniacs may eclipse the old" and the Chicago Sun Times simply said, “Natalie Who?” 10,000 Maniacs continued their grinding touring schedule, finding new fans in Mexico, Portugal and Brazil.

In 1999, the band released The Earth Pressed Flat on Bar/None. An Album that Angelfire.com called  “...arguably 10,000 Maniacs' greatest achievement, the perfect post-punk Celtic folk rock album.”

In December of 2000 founding member Robert Buck died at the age of 42.  After a three-year hiatus the Maniacs returned in 2003 with long time friend and former guitar tech Jeff Erickson on lead guitar.

In 2004, Elektra/Asylum/Rhino Records released Campfire Songs: The Popular, Obscure and Unknown Recordings, a two CD set compilation featuring a broad array of their groundbreaking music including several unreleased tracks.

The band began recording once again in 2010, video taping an exclusive “Unkempt” live acoustic performance in Jamestown, NY that included the new song Gold, written by Dennis Drew and guitarist, Jeff Erickson.

In early 2011 they continued writing and recording new material as they prepared for their 30th anniversary summer tour that culminated with a
hometown celebration in October with a art exhibit of memorabilia and 2 sold out shows at the Scharmann Theater on the campus of Jamestown Community College where the band had itʼs humble beginnings in 1981.

They continued recording in 2012 and launched a www.pledgemusic.com campaign in the fall to produce and release the new album, completing the successful campaign in December as they finished recording.

People who participated in the pledgemusic.com campaign will receive the new album, Music From The Motion Picture, in January 2013 and it will be available to the public on Ruby Wrist Watch Records/ORG Records, in February 2013 on CD, Vinyl and Download.

Visit the band:







Singer-songwriter Pegi Young's third release, Bracing For Impact, spotlights Pegi's beautifully spare and resonant vocals, world-weary and eloquent lyricism, and a hushed yet immediate emotional landscape. Bracing For Impact features Pegi and her acclaimed recording and touring band, The Survivors: legendary keyboardist Spooner Oldham, bassist Rick Rosas, guitarist Kevin Holly and drummer Phil Jones.

This album was produced by Pegi Young and The Survivors, with the exception of the final track, "Song For A Baby Girl," produced by Elliot Mazer.

Eight of the album's eleven songs are originals written by Pegi, with highlights including, "Flatline Mama" (featuring a horn section and background vocals by The Watson Twins) as well as "No Heart Beat Sound" and "Trouble In A Bottle."

Neil Young penned the rollicking "Doghouse" and contributes background vocals and harmonica on the track. Neil is also spotlighted on electric guitar during "Lie" and "Song For A Baby Girl." He adds harmonica to the late bluesman Tarheel Slim's tune, "Number 9 Train."

The group also covers "I Don't Want To Talk About It," a song by Crazy Horse's Danny Whitten that first appeared on that group's 1971 album.